Power of the Dollar - 50 Cent
Power of the Dollar

Power of the Dollar is the unreleased debut by 50 Cent. The album had a series of scheduled release dates, with the original promo CD showing a release date for October 19, 1999. It was then pushed back to March 21, 2000, before finally being scheduled for a July 2000 release. Unfortunately, the album was shelved after 50 was shot earlier in May 2000, leading to 50 being dropped from Columbia and blacklisted from the industry. It was also rumoured that a part of the reason for his blacklisting was due to one of the album’s songs “Ghetto Qu'ran (Forgive Me)”. Subsequently, the album was heavily bootlegged. The album features guest appearances from Destiny’s Child, Noreaga, Dave Hollister, Bun B and The Madd Rapper. The album’s production was handled by Trackmasters, Red Spyda, Sha Self, DJ Scratch and Erick Sermon, among others.
Distribution of songs on Power of the Dollar by producer